Tere Naina by Kailash Kher

Song: Tere Naina
Singer: Kailash Kher
Lyrics: Kailash Kher
Music: Kailasa band
Album: Jhoomo Re

I heard this song on a popular serial on the telly last night. This song touched me and moved me in such a way that I had to find out what song it is. It was obviously a Kaliash Kher song and it did not take me much time to find out the song.

Tere Naina actually starts with words ‘Jaage jaage soye soye tere naina’. Simple tune, simple words and the song is so beautiful, I cannot express it in words. I should take back my words about words being simple because I noticed one word whose meaning I don’t know: raanaaiyon mein. The complete line is : Haan in palon ki raanaaiyon mein, tum hi ho na.

The part of the song which had my heart melting was the tum hi ho na. Every time Kailash Kher sings these lines, my eyes well up and my head sways. The slight change in the pace, the chorus singing dheere na na dheere na na and the emotion that Kailash packs in: as if an innocent child asks his mother ‘You will be here after I fall asleep, right?’ Oh, what is it about this line that drives me crazy!

Words for the song:

Jaage jaage soye soye tere naina
Sapno mein khoye khoye tere naina
Tanhaaiyo ki, parchaaiyo mein,
Tum hi hona
Tere naina, haye naina

Sooni sooni, sooni sooni si yeh raina
Aaja piya, tere bina nahi chaina
Unchaaiyon ki, gehraiyon mein,
Tum hi hona
Tere naina, haye naina

Paaya tujhe toh sab mil gaya haan
Ehsaas aisa ki sab khil gaya
Jaise himalaya khud pighal ke, saagar ban gaya
Haan in palon ki raanaaiyon mein,
Tum hi hona
Tere naina, haye naina

Madhosh raatein pal pal suhaane
Rut gaa rahi hai dil ke taraane
Saare nazaare chaand taare gungunane lage
In vaadiyon ki angdaaiyo mein,
Tum hi hona
Tere naina, haye naina

Leave a Reply

