SOTW: Jaane Woh Kaise

Song: Jaane Woh Kaise Log The Jinke
Movie: Pyaasa (1957)
Music Director: S D Burman
Singer(s): Hemant Kumar
Lyrics: Sahir Ludhianvi

This song reminds me of my college days, engineering college days in particular. No, don’t get me wrong. I did not experience any love disappointment, just that I rediscovered this song during those days and I would hum this song sitting in bus, waiting for my bus at the stop and sitting in class while boring lectures were going – basically all the time.

Hemantda acquired a special place in my heart after I heard this song. For a long time, I was under the wrong assumption that this song is sung by Manna Dey and when I finally realized who the real singer was, I was not surprised at all. It had to be Hemantda with his expressive voice.

The song is clearly meant for a heart-broken lover’s situation. The tune is so simple as if Hemantda is reciting those lines rather than actually singing it. There is very little background music thus giving all the importance to Hemantda’s voice. His voice is so heavy and drawn-out, you can actually feel the burden. And the words, oh my, heart-wrenching, tear-jerking words. Tell me, whose heart will not melt for the person singing these lines:

Isko hi jeena kehte hain to yuhin jee lenge
Uff na karenge lab seelenge aasoon peelenge
Gham se ab ghabarana kaisa gham sau baar mila

I love this song so much, I can go on and on about it, but let me stop here by saying I love the simplicity of this song. Simple music, simple tune, simple words but the feeling are far from being simple.

Leave a Reply

