SOTW: Kahin Ek Masoom Naazuk Si Ladki

Song: Kahin Ek Masoom Naazuk Si Ladki
Movie: Shankar Hussain (1977)
Music Director: Khaiyyam
Singer(s): Mohammed Rafi
Lyrics: Kamal Amrohi

This is one of the best songs from the Khayyam-Rafi duo.  The same music director-singer pair who has given us memorable songs like the melancholic ghazal Hamari Yaad Aati To Hogi and the romantic duet with Lata Mangeshkar Simti Huyi Yeh Ghadiyan, totally shine in this song. This song is picturized on Kanwaljeet (remember him?) who is dreaming and fantasizing about his beloved. The music is soft and not too over powering giving all the importance to Rafi, his singing and his soft-as-silk voice. Rafi’s voice is the best thing about this song. Right after the song starts, there is a place where Rafi says ‘Haaye’ and your heart misses a beat there. I call Rafi the king of ‘Haaye’s – he has a range of them, and nobody can beat him in that. Words are too beautiful. I can’t write down the whole song here, but every word is note worthy. Just read these lines:

Chalo Khat Likhe Jee Mein Aata To Hoga
Magar Ungliyan Kapkapaati To Hongi
Kalam Haath Se Chhoot Jaata To Hoga
Umange Kalam Phir Uthaati To Hongi
Mera Naam Apne Kitaabon Pe Likhkar
Woh Daaton Mein Ungli Dabaati To Hogi

I have a personal reason for my love for this song. I heard this song for the first time on Radio City. Sheetal Iyer who used to host the 11 o’clock show on old Hindi songs played this song on her show and I fell in love with it. I didn’t have any clue about the whereabouts of this song, so I mailed her asking her the details. She surprised me by promptly replying, giving me all the information. I couldn’t find this song in any music shop. I checked with all my friends who were fans of old Hindi songs, but none of them had it. Some of them, like me, hadn’t even heard of it. Enter my dear husband (who wasn’t my husband then) and he had this song in his collection. To be honest, this was enough reason for me to fall in love with him, but I never told him that. After he shared the song with me, I listened to it non-stop for five days. This was the only song on my playlist and I couldn’t thank my husband enough. Our relationship started with the sharing of this song and our love for music is still one of the highlights of our five years long relationship. Hardly a day passes without either of us mentioning something about the Hindi film music. Enough with the sentimental love story. Here is the video of the song. Enjoy!

One thought on “SOTW: Kahin Ek Masoom Naazuk Si Ladki

Leave a Reply

