Nahin nahin koi tumsa nahin – Swarg Narak

Song: Nahin nahin, koi tumsa nahin
Movie: Swarg Narak (1978 )
Music: Rajesh Roshan
Singers: Kishore Kumar and Asha Bhosle
Lyrics: Anand Bakshi

I heard this song for the first time on Farishta, the Worldspace radio station for old Hindi songs. This song instantly caught my attention and held it for the complete length of the song. I had no clue which movie this song was from, but luckily my husband knew. He told me that it is from Swarg Narak and with Google’s help, getting details was easy.

So, the song is from Swarg Narak. Music is by Rajesh Roshan. Lyrics by Anand Bakshi. Earth music tells me that this movie has the more popular song ‘Leena o leena’. Just another example of how a soft, lovely song disappears into oblivion shadowed by a fast, peppy number.

Coming to the song, the first thing that struck me is the absence of background music. There is no instrument for rhythm and a faint tune is playing in the background. Kishore and Asha just shine in the entire song and outdo each other.

Now that I heard the song, I had to have it in my collection. I didn’t find it in any of the online stores. I was sure I wouldn’t find a ‘Swarg Narak’ CD, so didn’t bother to check. I was hoping HMV Saregama site will have it in their own collection which I can add to my custom CD, but nope, they didn’t have it either. So what would one do? Luckily for me, my husband had this movie VCD in his collection. I had to endure the torture of this movie to get this song. I exracted the video of the song from the VCD, then extracted only the audio part and now I have what I call as a ‘song’. It is definitely not as good as the bought song, but for the time being, this will do.

I wish I could link to an online site which played this song so that you guys could enjoy this lovely duet, but unfortunately I have to leave you with the imagination of how lovely it is. So, imagine Kishore and Asha singing together with almost no music in the background. Sounds good, doesn’t it?

Update: Kanan found a video of this song. Vishal has uploaded a glimpse of this song so that you guys can enjoy it.

2 thoughts on “Nahin nahin koi tumsa nahin – Swarg Narak

  1. But of course, you gotta ask the google queen in me for that. 😉

    It is indeed a very nice song. They have it at the link below on youtube. Enjoy! 🙂

    Thanks for finding such a cute song. Love the music in this one.

Leave a Reply

