An article on Rajesh Roshan

Hindu has an article on Rajesh Roshan, the music director who is not much talked about.

I was shocked at my ignorance when I read that Julie and Yaaraana movie songs were composed by Rajesh Roshan. Same goes with Baaton Baaton Mein, Mr. Natwarlal and so many other movies.

Mere jaisa yaar kahan is such an out and out R D Burman number that I still can’t believe this song is composed by Rajesh Roshan. How about Dil Kya Kare Jab Kisise Kisi Ko Pyaar Ho Jaaye from Julie?. This song is such a strong R D Burman flavor that one wouldn’t think twice if you said this song was composed by Panchamda.

One can see the humble, sensible nature of this music composer in this article. He is humble enough to acknowledge that it was difficult for him to make a place for himself when music directors like Kalyanji Anandji and Laxmikant Pyarelal were making hay. Read what he has to say about the current music composers and singers. I agree with Rajesh Roshan, I miss Rafi. I would also like to add Kishore to that. I miss Rafi and Kishore.

9 thoughts on “An article on Rajesh Roshan

  1. geetgatachal says:

    Add “Des Pardes” to the list… a complete Dev Anand file and the music was just too good… “Tu Pee aur Jee” is my all time favorite song (Sung by Kishore)

  2. As I said in the post, my knowledge about Roshan saab is quite bad, so I don’t know the movie you are talking about. Thanks for the recommendation though, I will definitely listen to the songs.

  3. I am sure you will enjoy the songs of Des Pardes….
    Just some more of Rajesh Roshan if you really want to enjoy his style of music making.. and this are my personal favorites..

    Papa Kahte Hain – “Ghar se Nikalte hi” and love of my life song “Mujshe Naraaz ho to ho jao”

    Daddy – Nobody (I mean nobody can beat this album.. Hands down) Talat Aziz and Rajesh Roshan at its best. “Sapno ki ghar ki Chat pe ho tarein, Tofiyo ki diwaron pe latke gubare”

  4. I have heard the Papa Kehte Hain songs. I like his more recent songs like ‘Kyun chalti hai pawan’ and ‘Koi tumsa nahin’. And yes, Daddy was a wonderful album. I just love ‘Aaina mujhse meri pehli si surat maange’.

  5. Nice… Looks like we have a similar choice 😉 His current songs are good, but somehow they don’t give a feeling as if I will listen to them after 10 years.. They are more of ‘IN’ music…

  6. Rajesh Roshan gave some of the most brilliant compositions till 1987. With the exit of Kishore Kumar from this world, Rajesh Roshan’s creativity spiralled down. it is unfortunate that the guy who gave gems like “aap Kahen Aur Hum Naa Aayen” (Film: Man Pasand), is now just another copycat ripping off tunes from everywhere. However, i still respect all his earlier work.

  7. Anil says:

    papaahate hai is composed by anand-milind.
    the best composed songs of rrr are all sung by kishore ” chookar mere manko”, “dil kya kare”, “kab tak andhere “,
    “laharo nki tarah yade”, “”o yara tu yaro se hai pyara”, “mach gaya shor”, sara zamana:, tumse bhadkar (also a stanza by alaka yagnik”,
    and duets “bhul gaya sub kuch”, “thoda hai”, “pardesiya”,:oonche neeche “, “kabhi khushi kabhi gum”, “sare gam re ga “, “kahiye suniye” all kishore lata
    as well as “mungada ” by usha” the anglo indian song “my heart is beating”, “jab chaye” by asha , “ye rate ” by lata

Leave a Reply

