Inspiration, anyone?

We all know about Anu Malik’s habit of getting inspired by someone else’s compositions. How would you react if I said the same applies to names like R.D. Burman, Salil Chowdhury, S.D. Burman, O.P. Nayyar and Shankar Jaikishen?

Shocked? So was I when I visited Itwofs. For someone like me who has been listening to these maestros since childhood and hearing only good things about them, this does come as a shock. It was a feeling of being let down, one of deception. That was my initial reaction, anyway. Now when I sit back and think about it, I don’t feel that bad, after all.

I enjoyed the compositions of the above said artists and will continue to do so. The reason why I admired the likes of Panchamda, Sachinda, Nayyar saab was because of the magic they have created. I get transformed to a whole new world when I listen to a few of my favorites songs. I feel elated, I feel as if I am in heaven. This is the reason why these music directors gained my love and my admiration. Now that I know that there is a possibility that their compositions might not be completely original, I need to make more room in my great-music-directors-list.

Whenever I listen to ‘Yeh hai Bombay meri jaan’ and sway, I should remember an unknown name along with that of O.P.Nayyar. Even if I forget myself while listening to ‘Tumse milke’, I should remember that R.D.Burman is not the only person I should thank for giving us this breathtaking song. Whenever my heart skips a beat listening to ‘Kaun hai jo sapnon mein aaya’, I should give credit to someone else apart from Shankar Jaikishen. I shouldn’t forget to thank Salil Chowdhary and someone else for the melodious song ‘Dil tadap tadap ke keh raha hai’.

Time to stress that ‘Art knows no boundaries’?

I am happy to note that I don’t see names like Madan Mohan, Naushad, Roshan, Ravi, Hemant Kumar on the boards. Who knows, how long before these names also figure on the list!

Leave a Reply

